Clover Device Options for a Shop That Delivers

Learning center series

Clover Device Options for a Shop That Delivers

Clover Device

“A Clover device” isn’t one thing. It’s at least six, they range from a $49 phone accessory to a dual-screen kiosk, and the differences between them matter a great deal if any of your orders leave the building in a van.

Most Clover comparisons are written for a restaurant or a retail floor, where every device is within reach of a power outlet. This one is written for the other case: a bakery, florist, caterer or wholesaler that takes money at a counter and occasionally at a customer’s door. In that situation the line-up splits cleanly into devices that can go out on a route and devices that cannot, and the spec that separates them is not price.

If you haven’t yet decided whether you should collect payment at the door at all, read the guide to contactless payments for deliveries first, because for a lot of businesses the answer is to charge before dispatch and skip the hardware. If you’re weighing Clover against other brands, the contactless payment machine buying guide covers the criteria across the market, and the NFC contactless payments guide explains the no-hardware route of using a phone as the reader.

The Bottom Line

  • Only two Clover devices are built to leave the building: Flex and Go. Everything else in the line-up is a counter device with a plug.
  • Clover Flex is the route device. Its specs list 4G/LTE alongside Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, and it has an integrated thermal printer.
  • Clover Go is the budget option, but it’s an accessory, not a terminal. It needs a phone to work and charges over micro USB.
  • Mini, Compact, Station and Kiosk all list 4G/LTE too, but their screens, power needs and form factors put them on a counter.
  • Clover is sold through resellers, so the price you’re quoted depends on who quotes it. Published reseller figures run from about $49 for Go to about $1,800 for a Station Duo.

Metrobi drivers are rated 4.97/5

"Your delivery drivers actually show up on time and handle products carefully"
— Rachel Parkhurst, Boloco

Trusted by local businesses for:

  • Background-checked professionals
  • Specialized in business deliveries
  • Same drivers for consistency
  • 4.97/5 average delivery rating

The Clover devices that can leave the building

Clover’s own developer documentation describes each device in the line-up, and the descriptions do most of the sorting for you (Clover).

Two are mobile by design:

  • Flex: “Full-featured payment and business management device that’s optimized for mobility”, with an integrated thermal printer.
  • Go: “Bring-your-own-device (BYOD) solution from Clover for taking EMV payments on mobile devices”, working with iOS and Android phones and tablets.

Four are not:

  • Mini: “All-in-one point of sale (POS) with payment acceptance”, usable as a standalone POS or a customer-facing terminal.
  • Compact: “A powerful and compact all-in-one device for payments and POS, designed for semi-integration”.
  • Station: “Countertop point of sale system (POS) to take payments, track inventory, manage timesheets, run reports, and print receipts”.
  • Kiosk: a dual-screen system with a 23.8-inch customer-facing display and an integrated 8-inch Clover Mini.

That last group is worth noting because several of them list 4G/LTE in their specs, which can read like portability. A 23.8-inch kiosk with a cellular radio is still a kiosk. Cellular on a countertop device is there so the business keeps trading when the shop’s internet drops, not so you can carry it.

Clover Flex is the model built for a delivery route

Flex is the one to look at if a driver needs to take payment at a door.

The current specs list “4G/LTE, WiFi, and Bluetooth” for both Flex 4 and Flex Pocket, a 5.99-inch IPS LCD display at 1440 x 720, and support for EMV contact (chip), EMV contactless (tap) and magstripe (Clover). The earlier Flex 3 lists Wi-Fi and 4G/LTE depending on region, with an internal thermal receipt printer.

Three things make that combination work on a route rather than merely away from a counter:

  • Its own connection. You’re not asking a driver to join a customer’s wifi or hotspot off the phone that’s running navigation.
  • Printing. The reseller VMS describes a “built-in thermal dot printer” that can also email or text a digital receipt, which covers both a restaurant that wants paper and a consumer who doesn’t (VMS).
  • Cards that won’t tap. Magstripe and chip are both there, so a physical card that hits an issuer’s contactless limit can simply be inserted.

Two practical caveats before you assume it solves everything.

The LTE connection needs its own data plan. VMS states the Flex “supports both Wi-Fi and 4G LTE (with an active data plan)”, describing it as giving “the freedom to take payments anywhere, whether you’re inside your store, out on a delivery, or working a mobile event” (VMS). That plan is a recurring cost, and it’s the kind of line item that doesn’t appear in a hardware price.

Charging differs by model, which matters more than it sounds. Clover’s specs list a wireless charging cradle for Flex 4, while Flex Pocket charges over USB Type C with an off-the-shelf charger and no wireless charging (Clover). A device that takes a standard USB-C cable can be topped up in a vehicle. A device that wants its cradle gets charged back at the shop. On battery, VMS puts Flex at “at least 8 hours of use for a typical SMB” (VMS), which is enough for a shift assuming it starts the shift full.

Clover Go is the cheapest way to take a card off-site

Go is a different proposition: a reader that pairs to a phone over Bluetooth and charges over micro USB, with the phone supplying the screen and the connection (Clover).

What it accepts: “chip, dip, and contactless payments”, including Apple Pay and Google Pay. What Clover publishes for battery is unusually concrete and useful: an estimated 160 dip, 160 swipe, or 130 contactless transactions per charge. Hold that against a real route and it’s clearly sufficient; a driver doing twenty stops isn’t going to flatten it.

What it doesn’t do:

  • Print anything. Receipts go by email or text.
  • Work without a phone. Two devices means two batteries and two things to forget.
  • Bring its own connection. You’re on the driver’s phone signal either way.

That last point is the honest comparison between Go and simply using phone-based tap-to-pay with no reader at all. If you’re already depending on the phone’s connection and the phone’s battery, the reader is buying you the ability to take chip and magstripe cards, which is a real benefit for large orders, and nothing else.

The Clover devices that belong on a counter

Useful to know what you’re ruling out, and why.

Mini 3 lists “Ethernet, Wi-Fi, 4G/LTE” with an 8-inch 1280 x 800 display and an integrated thermal printer. A capable all-in-one and far too large to carry on a route.

Compact lists “Ethernet 10base T, Wi-Fi (802.11a/b/g/n/ac), 4G/LTE” with a small 3.62-inch 480 x 480 screen, designed for semi-integration, meaning it works alongside another system rather than running the show.

Station models list Ethernet, Wi-Fi and 4G/LTE where applicable, with screens from 7 to 14 inches. Clover’s specs note the 2018 Station offers “up to four hours of integrated battery”, which is a graceful-shutdown window rather than a shift.

Kiosk is for self-ordering, not for carrying.

All specs from Clover’s device tech specs documentation (Clover).

One Clover software feature worth knowing if you run a dining room as well: Clover’s own blog describes Scan to Pay as part of its Table Service Restaurant software, letting customers pay from the table rather than at a counter (Clover). That’s a counter-replacement, not a delivery tool, but it’s the same instinct applied indoors.

Clover device specs compared

DeviceConnectivity listedScreenPrinterMobile?
Flex 44G/LTE, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth5.99″ 1440×720Integrated thermalYes, built for it
Flex Pocket4G/LTE, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth5.99″ 1440×720Integrated thermalYes, USB-C charging
GoBluetooth to phone, micro USB chargingUses the phoneNoneYes, needs a phone
Mini 3Ethernet, Wi-Fi, 4G/LTE8″ 1280×800Integrated thermalNo
CompactEthernet, Wi-Fi, 4G/LTE3.62″ 480×480Not specifiedNo
StationEthernet, Wi-Fi, 4G/LTE7″ to 14″YesNo, 4hr battery on 2018 model
KioskNot specified23.8″ + 8″ MiniIntegrated 80mm thermalNo

Source: Clover device tech specs and Clover devices, retrieved October 2026. All devices listed support EMV chip, contactless and magstripe except Go, which Clover describes as chip, dip and contactless.

What a Clover device costs to buy and to run

Clover is sold through resellers and merchant service providers rather than at one fixed list price, so published figures are indicative. The reseller VMS lists the following on a page dated August 10, 2026 and updated June 1, 2026, retrieved October 2026 (VMS):

DevicePublished hardware price
Clover Go~$49
Clover Flex~$599
Clover Mini~$799
Clover Station Solo~$1,349 to $1,499
Clover Station Duo~$1,649 to $1,799

The hardware is the smaller number. The same page lists monthly software plans from around $0 on a payments-only plan, retail plans from $14.95 to $104.90, quick-service dining from $59.95 to $89.95, full-service dining from $89.95, and personal services from around $14.95 to $69.95. Processing rates listed for Fiserv direct are 2.3% + $0.10 for card-present and 3.5% + $0.10 for card-not-present or keyed entry.

Run the arithmetic over three years before you compare device prices. A $599 Flex on a $59.95 plan is roughly $2,760 across 36 months, and the device is about a fifth of it. The gap between the card-present and keyed rates is the other number to notice: it’s the financial argument for putting a reader in a driver’s hand instead of phoning card numbers back to the shop.

Which Clover device fits which delivery setup

Counter plus a few door payments a week. Keep whatever you have at the counter and use phone-based tap-to-pay on the route. Don’t buy a second device for occasional use.

Counter plus daily consumer deliveries. Flex, for the cellular connection. Printing is a bonus rather than the reason.

Counter plus wholesale or catering routes. Flex, for the cellular connection and the printer, because business customers want paper and loading bays have bad signal.

Mobile-only: markets, events, pop-ups, no fixed counter. Flex as the primary device, or Go if the budget is tight and you can live without printing.

Already running a Clover Station and adding delivery. Flex pairs into the same account and reporting, which is the main reason to stay in the ecosystem rather than buying a cheaper reader from someone else.

What to confirm with your reseller before you sign

Because Clover goes through resellers, the terms vary more than the hardware does. Get these in writing:

  • The LTE data plan cost. Flex’s cellular connection needs an active plan, and that’s a monthly line item.
  • Which software plan you’re actually on, and what it costs when any introductory period ends.
  • Contract length and early termination fees. Ask specifically what leaving in month seven costs.
  • Whether you own the hardware or are leasing it. These have very different three-year totals.
  • Your processing rate and pricing model, including whether keyed transactions are priced differently, because they usually are.

Frequently asked questions

Which Clover device is best for taking payments on a delivery route?

Clover Flex. Its specs list 4G/LTE alongside Wi-Fi, it has an integrated thermal printer, and it accepts chip, contactless and magstripe, so it works at a door without borrowing a connection and without failing when a card won’t tap.

Can a Clover device work without internet?

Clover’s handhelds list cellular connectivity, which is how most route payments stay online. For what a specific device does when it loses all connection, whether it stores a transaction and forwards it later, ask your reseller about your exact model and plan, because that behaviour varies.

Is Clover Go enough for deliveries?

It can be, if your drivers don’t need printed receipts and you’re comfortable depending on their phone for both the screen and the signal. Clover publishes an estimated 130 contactless transactions per charge, so battery isn’t the limiting factor. The reason to step up to Flex is printing and an independent connection.

How much does a Clover device cost?

Published reseller pricing runs from around $49 for Go to roughly $1,800 for a Station Duo, but Clover sells through resellers so your quote will vary. The more important number is the monthly software plan plus processing rate, which over three years typically exceeds the hardware cost several times over.

Do all Clover devices take contactless payments?

Every device in the current line-up lists contactless acceptance. Clover’s specs show EMV contactless on the Flex models, NFC readers on Mini, Station and Flex 3, contactless on Compact, and contactless including Apple Pay and Google Pay on Go.

Decide route-capable first, then price

The useful order of operations with Clover is narrower than it looks. Work out whether you need a device that leaves the building; if you do, you’re choosing between Flex and Go, and that choice is about printing and connection independence. Then negotiate the plan and the rate, because that’s where the actual money is.

About the Author

Picture of Oguzhan Uyar
Oguzhan Uyar
CEO of Metrobi. Metrobi helps you find reliable drivers with clear pricing, tracking, and route optimization. With an entrepreneurial spirit, Oguzhan has been transforming local delivery logistics since 2019.
Related posts
In this article
Contactless Payments
Learning center articles
Other Learning Center Subjects